Skip to content
October 19, 2010 / A10 Clinical Solutions, Inc.

Guest Blog: A Survivor’s View on October Breast Cancer Awareness Month

Susan McCormick poses next to her survivor story and photo displayed at The Komen Gallery at the Komen NC Triangle Race for the Cure® event on June 12th, 2010 in Raleigh, N.C.

I invited my Executive Vice President of Clinical Research, Susan McCormick, a long-time breast cancer survivor, to share her thoughts as we dedicate this month of October to honoring losses, celebrating victories, and finding preventions and curative treatments for this disease that has affected nearly every person in some way. Here is Susan:

I was diagnosed with breast cancer in March of 1990, at age 39. I am a strong believer that the phrase ‘early detection saves lives’ is not merely a tagline, it is a truth…it is my truth that I believe because here I am 20 years later, alive, well and with no reoccurrence of the cancer. In those 20 years I have seen the birth of my only grandchild, meeting and marrying my wonderful husband and seeing my daughter get married. With a sister who is a four-year survivor, I am continually reminded of the power of early.

It’s hard to believe that October is upon us already. Breast Cancer Awareness Month (BCAM) provides an opportunity to reflect on how far we’ve come in breast cancer research and treatment and how far we still have to go to achieve our vision of a world without breast cancer.   

It is exhilarating to think that that there is now so much focus on this near epidemic and how far we’ve come in terms of being able to treat this disease that at one time was barely talked about and usually meant a life was ending. Knowing that this entire month is dedicated to awareness of this disease, to a disease that at one time was not nearly as treatable and the survival rates were so much lower, encourages and inspires myself and the women population as a whole. What progress we have made for our future sisters, mother, daughters, aunt, grandmothers, neighbors and friends!

Instead of consuming endless amounts of cotton candy and riding stomach-churning rides, I am looking forward to being a part of Komen at the NC State Fair.  And to be surrounded by the On the Go signature bright pink bus over the next few weeks is the cherry on top! This fun, hands-on experience allows me to present information, advocate the breast cancer movement and promote life-saving recommendations about breast self awareness – it’s all about offering my support at a heartfelt event full of encouragement and motivation. I volunteer for Komen because I believe it is part of my ‘survival purpose’. When I see and hear of all of the wonderful, wonderful women who lose their battles with breast cancer, I always ask myself, ‘Why have I been spared?’ The answer is simple – because I am still needed to serve my survival purpose – to continue to volunteer and contribute to the creation of A World Without Breast Cancer.

Susan McCormick

Executive VP, Clinical Research

20-year Breast Cancer Survivor

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. A10 Clinical Solutions, Inc. / Oct 22 2010 5:34 pm

    The A10 Team is so very proud of you Susan – what an inspiring woman!

Leave a Reply

