Skip to content
August 17, 2010 / A10 Clinical Solutions, Inc.

This ‘Devil’ Doesn’t Wear Prada

The A10 Team at the Ernst & Young Entrepreneur of the Year 2010 Carolinas Program Award Gala, June 2010

I certainly do not accessorize with Prada and have never personally purchased their merchandise; who could afford to?  Also, I would never consider myself a ‘corporate devil’ by any means; however, I would definitely consider myself a very driven, motivated and head-strong business woman in a thriving industry.  I have found that the ‘scare tactic’ is not a useful tool to employ in the work force; no one would benefit from that, and that the best thing a president and/or CEO can do for his or her staff members is to provide persistent encouragement, inspiration and support. 

I am proud to say that I have never been one to thrive on power trips, even though we have been fortunate in recent months and years to have been recognized by some of the most widely known and respected business leaders, organizations and publications.  I am the President and CEO of a multi-million dollar company; however, A10 does not utilize a hierarchy nor does it devalue team efforts.  When I originally sat down to create A10’s guidelines and procedures five years ago, I made sure to include key employees for their equal input.  Working together and incorporating differing views and opinions has been a great way to strengthen the A10 employee base and the overall commitment to the company.  This practice creates a positive environment where employees feel encouraged to work for the well being of our core business goals and values. 

With A10 striving to bridge the gap between global clinical research trials and health care delivery, it is important that I demonstrate the passion I have for the work I do.  What we at A10 do on a daily basis is a lifestyle rather than a job.  Here, it is less about the work and more about feeling the passion and goal of healing the world.  We focus on sustaining our company long-term and use that vision to dictate our daily activities.  There is no time here for power trips, only for new opportunities.

I challenge you to always keep sight of what is important to your employees, company and its success, but also remain encouraging to your employees as they, in turn, drive your business development.

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Margaret Powers / Aug 25 2010 7:07 pm

    Hello,

    I read in the Wednesday, August 25, 2010 News and Observer of A10’s recognition by Forbes magazine.

    Congratulations to yourself and all of your colleagues; may your successes continue in the clinical research arena!!

    Kind Regards,

    Margaret Powers

    • A10 Clinical Solutions, Inc. / Oct 13 2010 3:13 pm

      Thank you for your kind words; it has been quite a humbling experience for myself and the A10 Team to say the least!

Leave a Reply

