Skip to content
August 5, 2010 / A10 Clinical Solutions, Inc.

Glorious Renaissance

The A10 Story with photo of Uncle Allen at A10's Five Year Anniversary Gala, October 1, 2010.

A Renaissance.  That’s what they are calling it.

I just call it GLORY!!!!!!!!  GLORY!!!!!!!! GLORY!!!!!!!!  We are making a difference!!!!!

I read an article in the Wall Street Journal http://bit.ly/dgU32a that brought the meaning and results of why I started my company.  The article says that “HIV research is undergoing a renaissance that could lead to new ways to develop vaccines against the AIDS virus and other viral diseases.”  Isn’t this exceptional news after all of these years of doing clinical trials and studies on a disease that is decades old?

As you know, I founded A10 Clinical Solutions as a way to help companies get innovative new drugs to market faster for those who need them, especially to traditionally underserved populations.  And my drive to do this came from my broken heart after losing my dear Uncle Allen to HIV/AIDS in the late 1980’s.  I was angry.  I was shattered.  Where were the drugs to help my Uncle Allen?  Why didn’t he know how to get help?  Why couldn’t I do anything to save him?

When I started A10, I was just one woman.  Broke.  Two young sons to raise.  Divorced.  But all the while, something in me knew that I had to keep my promise to my uncle to do something in the name of HIV/AIDS and of our relationship.

To know that today A10’s constant work to put more and more seasoned clinical professionals into the clinical research and clinical trials process makes me content.  This work is what I was meant to do.  The pain I suffered in losing my uncle was the purpose for finding a way to be part of the prevention of HIV/AIDS and other diseases for others.  My Uncle Allen is working through me to reach other people. 

And now with this “renaissance” in clinical research that can potentially help people immunize themselves from a disease that is killing millions, I know that I am doing the right thing with A10.

This is my circle of life.  It’s one of those opportunities to see that everything happens for a reason, even the events that break your heart.  Sometimes a broken heart can be the beginning of a beautiful relationship.

Leave a Reply

